Elliot James Mulhern Is The Contrast Man

Let’s take it back to 2007. The scene is a band making a music video where the main character revisits an ex who is currently dating the best friend. The band has those haircuts we remember so well, rocking a pair of Converse and those everso missed skinny jeans. In this video, the drummer happens to be Elliot James Mulhern. This connoisseur of the arts went from drumming in bands like “Hey Monday” to releasing his own self-produced music through his own record label.

Londoner through and through, Elliot James is the founder of the British-American record label Blossöm Records & Fever Mint, Inc. He regularly has a hand in mixing and mastering his own musical interests and contributed to releases including Maroon 5, Kanye West, and more.

Photography by Joseph Michael Mercado

August 2020 marks a year since Elliot James dropped his Debut LP, “Always Lately.” The soft vocals and lulling instrumentals for “2 + 2” would put a good spin on any dream. Heading in the opposite direction, his song “Smooth” has an upbeat and funky sound. It’s one of those songs you can dance down the street while blaring it in some headphones. Trying to outdo himself, Elliot James has released multiple singles in 2020. He released “Serial Plans” just four short months ago. 

It seems as though Elliot James’ music comes from deep within and is inspired by things all around him in life. One of his songs, “Smooth,” features a sample from his parents’ choir at Christmas! How cool is that? He seems to put a little of himself into everything he creates making it personal.

October 2020 is bringing exciting news for everyone waiting on a new LP from Elliot James. Contrast has heard that he plans on releasing a single from his latest LP “Tiny Correspondence, Dangerous Ideas, and Sensitive Affairs.” Elliot James teamed up with Gavin Finn (Interscope) and Matt Schaeffer, Grammy winner for Kendrick Lamar’s DAMN, To Pimp a Butterfly, and Marvel’s Black Panther Soundtrack, as well as SZA’s CTRL, for this new track. 

Photography by Joseph Michael Mercado

The next single to be released on the 6th of November, “DREAMLOVE,” features Aaron Marsh, lead singer of the band Copeland. “DREAMLOVE” was mastered with Chris Gehringer, an eight-time winner of the Grammy Award who has received these wins by working with people like Rihanna, Drake, and Wu-Tang Clan. Also included in the line-up was 2020 nominated Lana Del Rey’s “Norman Fucking Rockwell.”

Watch the official music video for ‘How’s It Gonna Stop” directed by Joseph Michael Mercado below!


Magazine made for you.


No posts were found for provided query parameters.